Reflecting

Today marks my blog-a-versary. Sounds like a made up name you say? You are correct, I made it up. But it’s my blog-a-versary I can do what I like! A year ago today the blog began and within that year I feel there have been many positives. I was published numerous times, lovely changes have occurred within my professional and personal life AND I have been able to regularly communicate with all of you.

Thanks to this blog I can easily look back at the last year. How often do you allow yourself a chance to look at the positive events that have occurred for you? We can often get stuck in a rut seeing only the negative, or only counting major successes. Do you find it easier to focus on personal failures? Forgetting all the times you succeeded?

8GQjvE4a-moment-of-selfcompassion

If you find it easier to locate your flaws, please don’t berate yourself about being negative. Just become aware of it. A year from today you may notice this is when things started to change. You recognised that you deserve the same compassion you show to others. Start acknowledging your successes, no matter how small you feel they may be.

  • Did you finally finish that project you started years ago = success
  • Did you keep your cool when your kids/partner/parent was driving you bananas = success
  • Were you able to show kindness to a stranger for nothing in return = success

Today is your blog-a-versary as well. Celebrate your month, your year, your life. You made it this far didn’t you? And I am sure that was no easy feat.

“If your compassion does not include yourself, it is incomplete.” – Gautama Buddha

Leave a Reply

