Equality

Recently in Ireland the equality debate has heated up. Many people are calling it the ‘same sex marriage’ debate, or the ‘gay rights’ debate. I don’t want to call it that. At the heart of the matter it is about some humans having different rights than other humans and that is about equality.

What kicked off this debate was Rory O’Neill, an advocate of same sex marriage. He called some people who have a voice in the media ‘homophobic’. I believe these claims were justified, as the people he named are openly opposed to gay and lesbian partners marrying. However, there was a lot of backlash which resulted in payouts and other such nonsense. For a good synopsis have a read here or listen to what Miss Panti Bliss (Rory) had to say about it.

I get the impression people can find it difficult to empathise with homosexuals. Maybe it seems like an unfamiliar world and they can’t put themselves in their shoes:

How could the marriage of two people in love affect anyone else’s relationship? The divorce rate in North America is about 50%. I assume that’s because when some people get married they think, ‘Well if it doesn’t work out, we can just get divorced.’

That is what hurts the institution of marriage, that sullies the commitment, that is a threat to the vows that were taken. People who are in love and want to spend their lives together can do nothing but add something positive to this world.

gay-marriage-anyway.jpg

If anything is to be learned about the human race, it is that we grow and we evolve. My children will most likely never use a CD or know what a VCR is. But I would also like to think that my children will never know what it feels like to ‘check themselves’, worrying about what makes them such a target. More importantly I hope they won’t be made to feel like less of a person because of who they love.

“I agree with Dante, that the hottest places in hell are reserved for those who, in a period of moral crisis, maintain their neutrality” – Martin Luther King

One comment

  1. Thank you for this Angela! I just finished reading an acticle in the German press with the title ‘I guess I am a homophobe and I am okay with that’ and this is exactly what I needed to read afterwards.

Leave a Reply

