Regrets

It’s difficult for many of us to live the life we want. Being pushed and pulled by family, friends and the ideals of what we ‘should’ do.  Many people end up in a job they don’t really enjoy with people they can’t stand.  I am always surprised when I hear of someone miserable with their current life. I just think ‘Do they not know they can change it?’

There are many excuses as to why someone would stay unhappy in their life. There are eight here at the Huffington Post and below are a couple examples that the author gives:

  • I’m not ready to change – I know change is difficult and scary. We all enjoy routine, it calms us because we know what’s going to happen next. But if you want to have a different life you MUST be prepared to change.
  • What will people say? – In short, it doesn’t matter. You want to be unhappy because you’re worried about the opinions of others? I doubt it.
  • I don’t believe it’ll work out – Then it most likely won’t. You need to change your thinking and your belief system. If you need something to believe in, believe in you.

5Ds6WaN

Two years ago I read an article where a palliative nurse shared the most common regrets of the dying. When I read the list I found it very powerful but not surprising. It’s a cliche saying that at the end of your days you won’t wish you spent more time at the office; it’s a cliche because it’s true.

These are the top five regrets of the dying, taken from this article at the Guardian.

  1. I wish I’d had the courage to live a life true to myself, not the life others expected of me.
  2. I wish I hadn’t worked so hard.
  3. I wish I’d had the courage to express my feelings.
  4. I wish I had stayed in touch with my friends.
  5. I wish that I had let myself be happier.

Nothing here has anything to do with anyone else. All of the many individuals that reported these regrets were not blaming anyone else, they knew that no one else was responsible.

It is up to each and every one of us to be happy in our own lives. If you feel like you aren’t living the life you want, change it. No one else will do it for you. Make a change today and start feeling more content in yourself. I’m not saying quit your job and end your relationship all at once. But take stock of where you are the most unhappy and start to change it. If you need some help with how to change why not take a look here and here.

Life doesn’t have to always be a struggle. I love my job and I can honestly say I love my life. I remember at 16 realising I no longer enjoyed the job I was doing so I quit. I have only ever stayed in a job as long as I enjoyed it. I always knew something better would come along. It always did.

Start believing that you deserve a good life and don’t become someone who wishes they had done everything different.

“Life is short, break the Rules. Forgive quickly, kiss slowly. Love truly. Laugh uncontrollably and never regret anything that makes you smile.” -Mark Twain

Leave a Reply

