Gratitude.

I will thank the lights if they change just as I get there, I thank my MP3 for playing a song I like. I doubt these inanimate objects care that I have thanked them. But I care. I try to be grateful for the small things.

It’s been found that being grateful can increase happiness by 25%. In fairness, I have no idea what 25% of an emotion is, but 100% of my thoughts agree. Focusing on the things we’re grateful for means that we aren’t bogged down worrying about the stuff we’re missing.

In challenging times it’s hard to see that silver lining. If at my lowest point a blog told me to be filled with gratitude I’d punch the screen. If that’s where you are, then all want to say is that you have a choice. Be thankful for that. Today you can choose to continue to feel the way you do. Or you can choose to change. Scary isn’t it?

Be grateful that you can feel fear! Or anything for that matter. I’m glad I can feel, it means I’m alive.

Why not make a list of things you’re grateful for. Or look at the challenges you’ve been through and how they’ve helped you grow. Feeling low because you lost your job? Maybe this is a chance for a new opportunity and you hated that place anyway.

Every step you’ve taken has led you to this instant and in the moment all you can do is breathe.

Consider this: “Do not spoil what you have by desiring what you have not; remember that what you now have was once among the things you only hoped for.”  – Epicurus

Leave a Reply

